Conflicts of Interests

Correct at June 2024

COPD-X Committee

The COPD-X Guidelines Committee is responsible for updating the COPD-X Guidelines. All below-named members of the COPD-X Guidelines Committee are required to lodge declarations of potential conflicts of interest with Lung Foundation Australia on an annual basis. Such disclosures include the receipt of unrestricted educational grants, sponsorship, consultancy or other affiliations with the pharmaceutical, medical equipment or diagnostic industries.

Each committee member has a volunteer role in the COPD-X Guidelines Committee for Lung Foundation Australia (, a not-for-profit public benevolent institution.

Committee Member

Conflict of interest declaration



Professor Ian Yang, MBBS(Hons), PhD, FRACP, Grad Dip Clin Epid, FAPSR, FThorSoc, Thoracic Physician, The Prince Charles Hospital and The University of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD (Co-Chair)

Employee of The Prince Charles Hospital (Metro North Health, Queensland Health) and The University of Queensland.

Project grants and fellowships, paid to his institutions, from the following sources:

  • National Health and Medical Research (NHMRC)
  • Metro North Hospital and Health Service
  • The Prince Charles Hospital Foundation
  • Faculty of Medicine, The University of Queensland

Editorial Board member of Respirology, Annals of the American Thoracic Society, Respiratory Medicine Today, Journal of Thoracic Disease and Cochrane Collaboration.

Volunteer role in Lung Foundation Australia’s COPD Clinical Advisory Committee.

He declares that he has not received consultancy fees or honoraria from pharmaceutical companies and has not acted as a member of advisory boards for pharmaceutical companies.


Associate Professor Eli Dabscheck, MBBS, M Clin Epi, FRACP, Respiratory and Sleep Physician, Department of Respiratory Medicine, The Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, VIC (Co-Chair)


No conflicts to declare



Associate Professor Johnson George, BPharm, MPharm, PhD, Grad Cert Higher Education, Associate Professor, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University, Melbourne, VIC

Senior Lecturer at Monash University, who is his primary employer.

Research funding from Pfizer and Boehringer Ingelheim via an investigator‐initiated research grant.

Investigator‐sponsored grant funding and consultation fee from GSK for unrelated research, paid to his primary employer (Monash University).

In‐kind support from Vitalograph®, the manufacturers of COPD‐6TM, for research.

He has received no personal payments from these organisations.


Dr Renae McNamara, PhD, BAppSc(Phty), Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist, Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney, NSW


No conflicts to declare


Professor Christine F McDonald, AM, FAHMS, MBBS(Hons), PhD, FRACP, FThorSoc, Director, Department of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine, The Austin Hospital, Melbourne, VIC


No conflicts to declare


Professor Vanessa McDonald, DipHlthScien (Nurs), BNurs, PhD, FThorSoc, Professor of Chronic Disease and Academic Clinical Nurse Consultant, The University of Newcastle and John Hunter Hospital, Newcastle, NSW


Consultancy fees from GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) related to a Treatable Traits Steering Committee.

Speaker and advisory board fees from GSK, AstraZeneca, Menarini and Boehringer Ingelheim.

Board director for TSANZ.

Associate editor of Respirology.


Professor Brian Smith, MBBS, Dip Clin Ep & Biostats, PhD, FRACP, Staff Specialist, Bendigo Hospital, Bendigo, VIC


No conflicts to declare


Professor Nick Zwar, MBBS, MPH, PhD, FRACGP, Executive Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine, Bond University, Gold Coast, QLD


Board Member, Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service

Executive Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine, Bond University

Chair, Guidelines Group, National Asthma Council